Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

03 / Performance, Body, Fiction

automne 2014

03 / Performance, Body, Fiction

Avec: Ben Vautier / Elise Bergamini / Denys Blacker / Nenad Bogdanovic / Jonah Bokaer / Joan Casellas /Shaun Caton / Andrew Cochrane / Michel Collet / Nieves Correa / Anne Creissels / Jacques Donguy / Jean Dupuy / Sibylle Ettengruber / Bartolomé Ferrando / Henry Flynt / Angelika Fojtuch / Andrés Galeano / Serge Gavronsky / John Giorno / Yelena Gluzman / Monika Günther & Ruedi Schill / Bob Holman / Joël Hubaut / Elisabeth Jappe / József R. Juhász / Helen Koriath / Richard Kostelanetz / Arnaud Labelle-Rojoux / François Lagarde / Olivier Lecreux / Bob Lens / Patrice Lerochereuil / Dominik Lipp / Larry Litt / Claude Louis-Combet / Jean-Luc Lupieri / Olivier Lussac / Richard Martel / Jonas Mekas / Fina Miralles / Nicola L. / William S. Niederkorn / Evelyne Noviant / Bálint Szombathy / Sophie Taam / Valentín Torrens / ieke Trinks / Valentine Verhaeghe / Rob Wynne / Christian Xatrec

 

Commander Mobile 03 / Performance, Body, Fiction

Performance, Body, Fiction

Charles Fourier pensait le Doute absolu et l’Ecart absolu comme les plus sûrs moyens « pour s’écarter des routes suivies… »¹ afin de « s’en éloigner en tous sens »². Nous avons choisi de pratiquer l’écart et d’insister dans cette approche, expérimentée dès l’origine de la collection Mobile Album International. Nous abordons la performance en dissipant le corpus en textes, paratextes, récits, cartes, images, notes d’expériences. En proposant une circulation entre ces registres, nous nous écartons sensiblement de l’identification ou d’une systématique, reconnaissant que la performance n’est pas un objet détaché des pratiques et des histoires individuelles des artistes ; reconnaissant l’impureté constitutionnelle de la performance, dès son origine comme dans ses états à venir. L’album « Performance, corps, fiction » se veut être le reflet de parcours singuliers, qui se croisent, dialoguent, dessinant des topologies hétérogènes et provisoires. On sait que le witz, le clin d’oeil, est ruiné par l’analyse, que le fugace et l’irrépressible s’évanouissent sous le discours. Nous avons choisi de présenter les traces d’une expérience de la temporalité, d’un art en action, celui d’artistes contemporains et, comme autant d’attentions, les réflexions des artistes et des critiques portant sur cette zone expérimentale et expérientielle de l’art. Les conversations possibles qui se nouent entre ces deux pôles les excèdent, défaisant et construisant à la fois l’objet du discours.

Pour Mobile Album International, Michel Collet

1. Charles Fourier, Théorie des quatre mouvements et des destinées générales, Dijon, Les Presses du réel, 1998, p. 121
2. ibidem

EXTRAITS

 

ARNAUD LABELLE-ROJOUX - Gold Digger - 1980 - page 63

JÓZSEF R. JUHÁSZ - Human Flood Level Indicator - 2013 - page 59

FRANÇOIS LAGARDE - BRION GYSIN - page 67

LARRY LITT - Performance at Madison Square Park NYC - 2012 - page 80

ieke trinks - performance - 2013 - page 102

Henry Flynt - L’« Exposition en amont de son existence » à la Fondation Mudima - page 128

Le contenu de l’espace d’exposition de la Fondation Mudima à Milan le 10 juin 1989, ETAIT mon exposition. L’exposition eut lieu avant que je ne la décrète, sans que personne ne sache qu’elle avait lieu. Le fait que l’exposition ait bien eu lieu est documenté par des photos prises à Mudima le 10 juin 1989. J’ai photographié l’exposition avant même qu’elle n’existe. Une exposition d’art existe si la réalisation d’un évènement satisfait la déclaration d’intention d’une exposition d’art. En ce qui concerne « Exposition en amont de son existence », l’intention est déclarée bien après l’évènement dans le temps et dans l’espace. L’exposition existerait officiellement si l’affiche, l’annonce et ces explications étaient parues. J’ai informé Gino di Maggio le 3 décembre 1990 (sic !) que je considérais que les photographies documentaient une exposition qui avait eu lieu à l’insu de tous, au moment où les photos avaient été prises. L’exposition est liée à cette visite à Mudima et n’est pas transférable. Gino et ses associés ne deviendraient visiteurs de l’exposition que si Gino acceptait de montrer l’exposition après ma lettre de décembre 1990, même s’ils étaient présents physiquement le 10 juin 1989. L’exposition a eu lieu avant que Mudima n’ouvre. C’est la zéroième exposition de Mudima. Comme les photos le montrent, l’exposition incluait des oeuvres par d’autres artistes, qui étaient emballées et posées temporairement au sol. Je ne sais pas ce qu’il y avait dans ces paquets ni qui l’avait réalisé. J’accepte le « parrainage » d’un art que je ne connais pas – un art qui à ce moment ne jouait pas sa fonction voulue (puisque emballé). Je m’étais rendu à Mudima le 10 juin 1989 pour discuter de projets futurs avec Gino. J’ai photographié l’intérieur du bâtiment alors que Gino m’en faisait la visite.

© Henry A. Flynt, Jr.

Olivier Lussac - CORPS, PERFORMANCE, FICTION - page 186

What is another culture ? E. Saïd

Une fiction dans la performance est difficilement définissable. Elle appelle souvent à des rencontres dont, parfois, nous méconnaissons l’existence, ou, du moins, deviennent-elles des mythes dans les « Lieux de la culture » (1). J’entends par cette fiction la capacité à jouer et à imaginer. Il s’agit de convoquer un travail de l’imagination comme une des caractéristiques de la subjectivité des moi et des mondes imaginés contemporains.
Il s’agit en outre de montrer que la performance est une pratique de l’émancipation qui ne fait pas l’économie d’une référence et d’une réflexion identitaire, d’un sujet porteur de processus de reconnaissances culturelles, et pas seulement artistiques, vers une dimension expérimentale dans laquelle se construit ce que Homi Bhabha nomme les « terrains d’élaboration des stratégies du soi ». Ces espaces, où s’élaborent les positions de l’artiste, émergent dans les moments où changent les modalités d’assemblage de binômes sur lesquels l’individu (le performeur) se définit résistant et/ou réductible à toutes formes d’assimilation : altérité/identité, passé/présent, intérieur/extérieur, inclusion/exclusion, masculin/féminin, noir/blanc…
Bhabha analyse en effet cet espace comme celui du devenir « tiers-espace », dans lequel le sens et les symboles culturels n’ont pas d’unité et de fixité. Ces signes peuvent être traduits et réinterprétés. Le « tiers-espace » dépasse les conflits de l’identité et de l’altérité (corps sociaux opposés, classes, genres ou races…, ce que Vivian Patraka nomme la « terreur binaire ») (2), et ouvre à des différences culturelles. Découvrir ce « tiers-espace », c’est pratiquer autant que révéler l’hybridité de toute identité, c’est créer un au-delà du langage des opposés.
Cependant, il n’est pas lieu de s’appesantir sur la théorie que l’auteur de Lieux de la culture met en avant, mais de remarquer essentiellement que la position du sujet et le processus d’identification mis en jeu dans la performance supposent un phénomène d’hybridations multiples et créatrices, dans des lieux de transaction et dans des actions momentanées.
L’anthropologue Victor Turner avait nommé ce « tiers-espace » de la performance, « liminal » (3). Il avait réagi, lors de la naissance des Performance Studies, à la sclérose que constituait le champ de sa discipline. Ce fut à ce moment qu’il initia une nouvelle méthode nommée Social Drama Analysis, en évoquant l’idée que les cérémonies traditionnelles pouvaient être rapprochées de nos rites modernes et contemporains. En cela, il inaugurait une approche novatrice, passant d’une anthropologie du rite à une anthropologie de la performance, tout comme Bhabha a instruit ce nouvel espace de « négociation » qui défie tout antagonisme.

Prenons quelques exemples pour expliciter ce « terrain », où les espaces interstitiels sont temporaires, mais féconds, produits dans des contextes spécifiques comme le sont certaines performances dont les ressorts relèvent de nouveaux espaces identitaires et déterritorialisés.

– Dans l’exposition Mirage : Enigmas of Race, Difference and Desire (1995), Renee V. Cox, en collaboration avec Lyle A. Harris, crée la photographie Venus Hottentot 2000. De cette réinterprétation, Cox combine son propre corps à la matrice historique de la représentation sexuelle occidentale de la femme noire. Dans la photographie, elle reprend les caractéristiques stéatopygiques de Sarah Baartman, en ajoutant une poitrine et des fesses renflées en acier. Comme le souligne Harris, « Je vois mon travail […] comme une interrogation sur l’ambivalence autour du corps. (4) »
De cette entreprise qui suscita bien des remous, l’artiste dominicaine Teresa María Díaz Nerio, lors de l’exposition Black Europe Body Politics (2013), revêt un costume en latex noir. L’accent est porté sur les stéréotypes sexuels de la femme noire (seins et fesses). Nerio s’expose comme sculpture vivante : « …J’ai choisi de me concentrer sur des gens qui viennent du Sud Global, de pays qui ont été colonisés. Ils portent tous cette histoire de la négritude… […] Le fait que j’ai choisi Sarah Baartman a à voir avec le fait que je vis aux Pays-Bas où je fais l’expérience de cette sorte d’incroyable racisme en tant que femme dominicaine. Ce racisme est tellement institutionnalisé… Il semble si faible… Mais en réalité il est répandu et violent. »
« […] Vous êtes bombardé de ce cliché tout le temps et puis vous pensez « oui, les femmes caribéennes sont vraiment sexuelles ou pas sexuelles du tout, elles sont grosses et cuisinent tout le temps et adorent les enfants blancs ». Ces stéréotypes sont tellement extrêmes. Il s’agit de ce que le groupe décolonial modernité/colonialité a conceptualisé en tant que « colonialité de l’être » et cela porte aussi sur la « colonialité de la connaissance » en fait… Ils colonisent tout votre corps : il ne vous appartient plus. » (5) Cela révèle, par des conditions significatives de mise en jeu, les ressources mêmes du corps.

– L’artiste barbadienne Sheena Rose fit le 28 octobre 2012 une performance devant le public, dont le déroulement a pu mener à une réflexion sur les stéréotypes comportementaux « qui ont la vie dure ». Se déshabillant totalement, à l’exception de roses encerclant la tête, elle égrène un monologue, qui prend parfois l’allure d’un dialogue avec des personnages fictifs et demande d’un air de défi, en adoptant des postures, tantôt liées à des femmes noires, tantôt à la peinture : « Vous croyez que je vais vous parler de l’Afrique ? De couleur ? De race ? D’identité ? De sexualité ? De beauté ? De coiffure ? » Elle parle de virginité, des propositions indécentes des hommes, de l’avilissement des femmes, du viol, le ton monte jusqu’à ce qu’elle montre du doigt des spectateurs : « Vous voyez des gens comme vous ! Des gens comme vous ! » Et s’en prend directement à un spectateur, pleurant puis criant le mot « Ras » : « Ras : tu m’appelles Rose, d’accord ? Modèle ou artiste, mais jamais Ras » (6). Les thèmes abordés sont bel et bien la sexualité, le racisme et l’identité. Au-delà de ces propositions, Rose renvoie à la question que Carolee Schneemann s’était posée en dénonçant la dualité sujet/objet : « Comment puis-je avoir une autorité comme image et comme créatrice d’images ? » Dans la performance, le corps est souvent employé comme objet corporel actif, où la femme se considère elle-même comme artiste, pas seulement comme objet de désir et d’accommodation sexuelle qui régit activité avec masculinité et passivité avec féminité.

– Les performances de James Luna concourent à réfléchir sur la légitimation de l’artiste indien natif. À l’instar de l’installation The Market is Here (2002) de George Marcus (7), en collaboration avec les artistes Abdel Hernández et Fernando Calzadilla, mettant en relation le marché indigène d’El Coche et le musée d’art contemporain de Mavao, pour révéler deux réalités culturelles qui se méconnaissent totalement, James Luna témoigne d’un souci similaire. Dans Artifact Piece (8) (1987), pièce majeure de performance, Luna prend l’attitude d’un gisant presque nu, placé sur du sable, sous vitrine dans le Musée de l’Homme de San Diego. Le lieu n’est pas anodin. Luna se considère lui-même comme un artefact amérindien. Des écriteaux entourent son corps, des objets personnels (acte de divorce, livres, disques…), ainsi que des objets cérémoniels de la nation Luiseño, sont placés autour du corps. Cette action est contestataire, lorsqu’il dénonce la présentation de la culture amérindienne, largement stéréotypée dans la société américaine. Il confirme l’incapacité de l’institution à rendre compte de l’actualité amérindienne et son attitude à faire demeurer le colonialisme. Il défie le rapport figé entre représentation traditionnelle et contemporaine, en convoquant les clichés de l’artefact, comme reliques du passé. C’est méconnaître finalement l’évolution de tout groupe humain et son possible rapport identité/altérité culturelle.

– La dernière étape évoquée ici reste la plus célèbre et sans doute la plus controversée. Coco Fusco et Guillermo Gómez-Peña, comme border artists, réalisèrent ensemble The Year of the White Bear-Part One: Two Undiscovered Amerindians visit Irvine (1992) (9). Personnifiant un couple d’autochtones provenant de l’île fictive de Guatinau, les artistes rejouent le principe du tableau vivant pseudo-ethnographique afin de questionner le colonialisme. Bien difficile de décrire tout le déroulement, mais les artistes, affublés de costumes indiens, vivent durant trois jours dans une cage de 10 x 12 mètres, dans laquelle ils s’adonnent à des activités aborigènes : regarder la tv, travailler à l’ordinateur, créer des poupées vodou, écouter du rap… tout autant que danser, chanter, raconter des histoires (en espagnol), être pris en photo à la demande des visiteurs, pour une somme modique ou bien, encore, se livrer à des attouchements sexuels. D’authentiques reliques, cheveux ou ongles, ont même été vendus. Or, comme le souligne Fusco : « En fait, il y avait une certaine confusion : étions-nous des vrais aborigènes ou des anthropologues apportant des vrais aborigènes dans la galerie ? »
Fusco utilise en effet la notion de « reverse ethnology » et Gómez-Peña de « performance as reverse anthropology », pour qualifier ce que Marc Augé évoque ainsi : « Ce qu’il m’est arrivé d’appeler ethnologie « inversée » s’apparente beaucoup moins à une espèce de retour sur soi qui s’enrichirait de l’expérience d’autrui qu’à un retour sur les questions que nous avons adressées aux autres et dont nous mesurons peut-être mieux le sens et la portée lorsque nous nous les adressons à nous-mêmes. » (10). L’implication de la performance, dès lors, concerne d’une part l’ethnologie mettant en scène le colonialisme et l’ethnographie coloniale, et, d’autre part, la performance comme outil ethnographique, toutefois teintée d’une certaine dose d’ironie excitatrice.

Bien d’autres performances (ou de ce qu’on peut appeler une « anthropologie performative ») auraient pu être analysées dans ces conditions d’assimilation et d’appropriation artistiques, entre autres celles de Joyce Scott et Kay Lawal, Women in Substance (1988) ; de Grace Jones et Keith Haring, Performance in Paradise Garage (11) (1985) ; de James Luna, Half Indian/Half Mexican (1990) ; La Nostalgia Remix (2011) de James Luna et Guillermo Gómez-Peña ; de Latifa Laâbissi, Self-Portrait Camouflage (2006-2010) ; de Louis-Karl Picard-Sioui, As-tu du sang indien ? (2008) ; de Teresa María Díaz Nerio, Ni mamita/Ni mulatita (2013)…

1. Homi K. Bhabha, Les Lieux de la culture. Une théorie postcoloniale, Paris, Payot, 2007 pour la traduction française (original title The Location of culture : Routledge, 1994)
2. Vivian Patraka, « Binary Terror and Feminist Performance : Reading Both Ways », in Discourse 14, no. 2 (été), 1992, p. 163-185.
3. Victor Turner, The Anthropology of Performance, New York, PAJ Publications, 1987.
4. Catalogue Mirage : Enigmas of Race, Difference and Desire, Londres, ICA and inICA, 1995, p. 150.
5. http://blog.uprising-art.com/be-bop-2013-exclusive-interview-with-teresa-maria-diaz-nerio/
6. http://aica-sc.net/2012/11/19/la-performance-pour-se-decouvrir/
7. George Marcus et Fernando Calzadilla, « Artisan in the Field : Between Art and Anthropology », Contemporary Art and Anthropology (édité par Arnad Scheider et Chistopher Wright, Berg, Oxford-New York, 2006, p. 86-95.
8. Cf. Jonathan Lamy, « Les Performances de James Luna : effets de corps, effets de culture », Pratiques performatives. Body Remix, sous la direction de Josette Féral, Rennes, Presses de l’université du Québec et de Rennes, 2012, p. 67-77.
9. Kim Sawchuk, « The Year of the White Bear », entretien de Coco Fusco et Guillermo Gómez-Peña, Revue Parachute, n° 67, 1992.
10. Marc Augé, Le Sens des autres : Actualités de l’anthropologie, Paris, Fayard, 1994, p.59.
11. Cf. Miriam Kershaw, « Postcolonialism and Androgyny : The Performance Art of Grace Jones » Art Journal 56 (Winter 1997), p. 19-25.

COLOPHON

 

Directrice de la publication : Valentine Verhaeghe
Comité de rédaction international : USA – Patrice Lerochereuil, USA – Pierre Joris, USA – Christian Xatrec, Italie – Anselm Jappe, Espagne – Pr. Bartolomé Ferrando, UPV Valencia, Espagne – Joan Casellas
Coordination et développement : Valentine Verhaeghe & Michel Collet
Design : Jean-Luc Gehres / www.welcomedesign.fr
Diffusion: Les presses du réel, Dijon, France
Copyright: Mobile Album & les auteurs
Couverture: Photograph by Johnny Amore aka Patrick Morarescu, Performers: Ieke Trinks, 2013

Mobile Album International est réalisé par Montagne Froide / Cold Mountain (France).
Network: La documentation de cet ouvrage a été établie en partenariat avec le Pôle de recherche Le Corps de l’artiste, Body & Art, Institut Supérieur des Beaux-Arts de Besançon Franche-Comté, Emily Harvey Foundation New York, The Black Kit, Europäisches Performance Institut / ASA-European, Cologne. M.A.I s’inscrit dans le cadre de Seize Mille, Réseau d’art contemporain en Franche-Comté, cette édition est une participation à Alternante, Parcours Fourier, produit par le Centre d’Art Mobile.
Montagne Froide / Cold Mountain reçoit le soutien de la DRAC Franche-Comté Ministère de la culture et de la communication (France), la Région Franche-Comté (France), l’Institut français, The Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the United States. L’événement de présentation à New York a reçu le soutien des Services Culturels de l’Ambassade de France à New York.

Traductions
Jannike Bergh
Nina Bogin
Eve Downey
Violette Guinchard
Helen Koriath
Cara Leopold
Mélody Michut
Yolanda Pérez Herreras
Peggy Tyrode
Simon Welch

Relectures
Udo Breger
Yvain Guerrero
Larry Litt
William Niederkorn
Charlotte Roudot
Christian Xatrec

03 / Performane, body, fiction
automne 2014
224 pages
issn 2101-9614
15 euros
chf 20
us $ 20
cnd $ 20
£ 13
¥ 2100

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

03 / Performance, Body, Fiction

autumn 2014

03 / Performance, Body, Fiction

With: Ben Vautier / Elise Bergamini / Denys Blacker / Nenad Bogdanovic / Jonah Bokaer / Joan Casellas /Shaun Caton / Andrew Cochrane / Michel Collet / Nieves Correa / Anne Creissels / Jacques Donguy / Jean Dupuy / Sibylle Ettengruber / Bartolomé Ferrando / Henry Flynt / Angelika Fojtuch / Andrés Galeano / Serge Gavronsky / John Giorno / Yelena Gluzman / Monika Günther & Ruedi Schill / Bob Holman / Joël Hubaut / Elisabeth Jappe / József R. Juhász / Helen Koriath / Richard Kostelanetz / Arnaud Labelle-Rojoux / François Lagarde / Olivier Lecreux / Bob Lens / Patrice Lerochereuil / Dominik Lipp / Larry Litt / Claude Louis-Combet / Jean-Luc Lupieri / Olivier Lussac / Richard Martel / Jonas Mekas / Fina Miralles / Nicola L. / William S. Niederkorn / Evelyne Noviant / Bálint Szombathy / Sophie Taam / Valentín Torrens / ieke Trinks / Valentine Verhaeghe / Rob Wynne / Christian Xatrec

 

Order Mobile 03 / Performance, Body, Fiction

Performance, Body, Fiction

Charles Fourier saw Absolute Questioning and Absolute Distancing as the surest means to “get off the beaten path”¹, in order to “get away from it in all possible ways”². We have chosen to make a practice of this distancing, to adhere to the same approach, and we have been experimenting along this line from the very inception of the Mobile Album International collection. We approach performance by disbursing its corpus in texts, paratexts, narrations, maps, images, experiential notes. By offering to navigate through these different registers, we are distancing ourselves markedly from a position of identification or systematization and are not looking at performance as an object detached from an artist’s individual history and practice: by acknowledging the constitutional impurity of performance, from the very moment it started to what it might  become. The album “Performance, Body, Fiction” –drawing upon temporary and heterogeneous topologies– aims to reflect singular paths that intersect and engage in dialogue. We know how a flash of wit or a wink can be ruined once it is analyzed, and how the fleeting and the irrepressible can be lost in discourse. We choose instead to show the traces that result from an experience of temporality, from an art in action practiced by contemporary artists, and among other areas of interest, to give visibility to the thought processes of artists and critics with regard to this experiential and experimental space in art. The potential dialogues that can occur between these two poles may well surpass them, while simultaneously undoing and building the object of discourse.

For Mobile Album International, Michel Collet

1. Charles Fourier, Théorie des quatre mouvements et des destinées générales, Dijon, Les Presses du réel, 1998, p. 121
2. ibidem

SHOWCASE

 

ARNAUD LABELLE-ROJOUX - Gold Digger - 1980 - page 63

JÓZSEF R. JUHÁSZ - Human Flood Level Indicator - 2013 - page 59

FRANÇOIS LAGARDE - BRION GYSIN - page 67

LARRY LITT - Performance at Madison Square Park NYC - 2012 - page 80

ieke trinks - performance - 2013 - page 102

Henry Flynt - The “Show in Advance of Its Existence” at Mudima - page 128

The contents of the exhibition space of Fondazione Mudima, Milano, on Saturday, 10 June 1989, were a show of mine. The show occurred before I constituted it, when no one knew it was occurring. The occurrence of the show is documented by photos which I took in Mudima on 10 June 1989. I photographed the show before it existed. An art exhibit exists if a realized occurrence fulfills the declared intention of an art exhibit.  With respect to “Show in Advance of Its Existence,” the intention is declared long after the occurrence in time and space. The show would officially exist if the poster, announcement, and this explanation were released. I communicated to Gino di Maggio on December 3, 1990 [sic!] that I considered the photographs to document a show which had occurred at the time the photos were taken –unknown to everybody. The show is tied to that visit to Mudima and cannot be transferred. Gino and his associates would not become visitors to the show unless Gino accepted to do the show after my letter of December 1990, even though they were physically present on June 10, 1989. The show occurred before Mudima opened. It is Mudima’s zeroth show. As shown in the photos, the show included packaged art, by other artists, stored temporarily on the floor. I do not know what was in the packages or who made it. I assume(d) sponsorship of art unknown to me –art which was not at the time performing its intended function (being in storage). I had gone to Mudima on June 10, 1989, to talk with Gino about future events. I photographed the interior as Gino showed me around the building.

© Henry A. Flynt, Jr.

Olivier Lussac - BODY, PERFORMANCE, FICTION - page 186

What is another culture? E. Said

Fiction in performance is difficult to define. It often calls for encounters, the existence of which we sometimes do not recognize, or at least they become myths in “The Location of Culture”(1). What I mean by fiction is the ability to play and imagine. It is a case of summoning up an imaginary work as one of the features of the subjectivity of me and imagined contemporary worlds. It is also about showing that performance is a practice of empowerment that does not avoid references and reflections related to identity, a subject bearing a cultural (though not just artistic) recognition process, towards an experimental dimension in which is constructed what Homi Bhabha calls “fields for the development of strategies of self.” These spaces, in which the positions of the artist develop, emerge at times of change in the modes of assembling binomials in which the individual (the performer) is defined as resistant and/or reducible to any form of assimilation: alterity/identity, past/present, inside/outside, inclusion/exclusion, male/female, black/white, etc.
Indeed, Bhabha analyzes this space as becoming a “third space” in which meaning and cultural symbols have no unity or fixity. These signs can be translated and reinterpreted. The “third space” goes beyond conflicts of identity and otherness (opposed social bodies, classes, genders, races, etc, that Vivian Patraka refers to as “binary terror”) (2) and opens up to cultural differences. Discovering this “third space” involves both practicing and revealing the hybridity of identity and creating a space beyond the language of opposites.
However, it is not necessary to dwell on the theory highlighted by the author of The Location of Culture, but rather to note that the position of the subject and the identification processes involved in performance imply a phenomenon of multiple and creative hybridizations in places of transaction and momentary actions.
The anthropologist Victor Turner referred to this “third space” of performance as “liminal” (3). He responded, during the birth of Performance Studies, to the sclerosis that typified his disciplinary field. That is when he created a new method called Social Drama Analysis, evoking the idea that traditional ceremonies could be compared to modern and contemporary rituals. In doing so, he initiated a new approach in shifting from an anthropology of ritual to an anthropology of performance, just as Bhabha evoked the new space of “negotiation” that defies all antagonism.

A few examples will clarify this “field” in which interstitial spaces are temporary but fruitful, produced in specific contexts as are some performances whose force arises from new deterritorialized identity spaces.
– In the exhibition Mirage: Enigmas of Race, Difference and Desire (1995), Renee V. Cox, in collaboration with Lyle A. Harris, created the photograph Hottentot Venus 2000. In this reinterpretaion, Cox combines her own body with the historical matrix of the Western sexual representation of black women. In the photograph, she takes on the steatopygic features of Sarah Baartman, by adding a chest and buttocks bulging with steel. As Harris points out, “I see my work […] as a query concerning the ambivalence surrounding the body” (4).
Following this action, which aroused quite a stir, the Dominican artist Teresa María Díaz Nerio wore a black latex suit during the Black Europe Body Politics exhibition in 2013. The focus was on sexual stereotypes of black women (breasts and buttocks). Nerio exhibited herself as a living sculpture: “… I chose to focus on people who come from the South of the globe, countries that were colonized. They all bear the history of blackness […] My choice of Sarah Baartman had to do with the fact that I live in the Netherlands where I experience this kind of incredible racism as a Dominican woman. This racism is so institutionalized… It seems so weak… But in reality it is widespread and violent. [… ] You are bombarded with this cliché all the time and then you think “yes, Caribbean women are really sexual or not sexual at all, they are fat and cook all the time and adore white children”. These stereotypes are so extreme. This is what the group decolonial modernity/coloniality conceptualized as “coloniality of being” and also relates to the “coloniality of knowledge” in fact… They colonize your whole body: it no longer belongs to you” (5). This reveals the very resources of the body through the significant conditions in play.

– On 28 October 2012, the Barbadian artist Sheena Rose presented a public performance which could give rise to a discussion on diehard behavioral stereotypes. Undressing completely, with the exception of roses encircling her head, she recited a monologue, which sometimes took the form of a dialogue with fictional characters and, while adopting postures that sometimes related to black women, sometimes to painting, defiantly asked: “Do you think I’m going to talk to you about Africa? Color? Race? Identity? Sexuality? Beauty ? Hairstyles ?” She talked about virginity, indecent proposals from men, the degradation of women and rape, her tone rising until she pointed to the viewers: “You see, people like you! People like you!” And directly addressed a spectator, crying and then shouting the word “Ras”: “Ras: you call me Rose, okay? Model or artist, but never Ras.” (6). The themes were indeed sexuality, racism and identity. Beyond these propositions, Rose referred to the question that Carolee Schneemann posed denouncing the subject/object duality, “How can I have authority as an image and as a creator of images?” In performance, the body is often used as an active material object in which the woman sees herself as an artist, not just as an object of desire and sexual accommodation equating activity with masculinity and femininity with passivity.

– James Luna’s performances are thought-provoking reflections on the legitimization of the indigenous artist. Like the installation The Market is Here (2002) by George Marcus (7), in collaboration with artists Abdel Hernández and Fernando Calzadilla, connecting the El Coche indigenous market and the Mavao Museum of Contemporary Art to reveal two cultural realities that are completely unaware of one another, James Luna shows a similar concern. In Artifact Piece (8) (1987) , a major performance piece, Luna adopts the position of an almost naked recumbent figure, placed on sand, under glass in the Museum of Man in San Diego. The location is not insignificant. Luna sees himself as a Native American artifact. Notices surround his body, along with personal items (a divorce certificate, books, records, etc) plus Luiseño nation ceremonial objects. This action is a form of protest in denouncing the largely stereotyped representation of Native American culture in American society. It confirms the inability of the institution to take account of the current Native American situation and its attitude that prolongs colonialism. It defies the fixed relationship between traditional and contemporary representation by evoking the clichés of the artifact, as relics of the past. This ultimately ignores the evolution of any human group and its potential identity/alterity cultural relationship.

– The last step mentioned here remains the most famous and arguably the most controversial. Coco Fusco and Guillermo Gómez-Peña, as border artists, produced The Year of the White Bear – Part One: Two Undiscovered Amerindians visit Irvine (1992)9. Impersonating an indigenous couple from the fictional island of Guatinau, the artists recycled the idea of the pseudo-ethnographic tableau in order to question colonialism. It is difficult to describe the entire event, but the artists, dressed in Indian costumes, lived for three days in a 10 x 12 m cage, in which they engaged in Aboriginal activities: watching TV, working at a computer, creating voodoo dolls, listening to rap, etc, as well as dancing, singing, telling stories (in Spanish), having their picture taken at visitors’ request, for a small fee, or else engaging in sexual petting. Authentic relics, such as hair and nails, were even sold. However, as Fusco points out: “In fact, there was some confusion: were we real aborigines or anthropologists bringing real aborigines into the gallery?”
Indeed, Fusco uses the concept of “reverse ethnology” and Gómez-Peña “performance as reverse anthropology” to describe what Marc Augé refers to when he says “What happened for me to call ethnology inverted was not so much a type of introspection enriched by the experience of the Other as a return to the question we addressed to others and of which we may better measure the meaning and significance when we ask it of ourselves.”(10) The involvement of performance, therefore, concerns on the one hand ethnology staging colonialism and colonial ethnography and, on the other hand, performance as ethnographic tool, tinged however with a dose of exciting irony.

Many other performances (or what might be called “performative anthropology”) could be analyzed in artistic terms of assimilation and appropriation, including: Women in Substance (1988) by Joyce Scott and Kay Lawal; Performance in Paradise Garage (11) (1985) by Grace Jones and Keith Haring , Half Indian/Half Mexican (1990) by James Luna; Nostalgia Remix (2011) by James Luna and Guillermo Gómez-Peña; Self-Portrait Camouflage (2006-2010) by Latifa Laâbissi; Do You Have Indian Blood? (2008) by Louis-Karl Picard-Sioui, Ni Mamita/Ni mulatita (2013) by Teresa María Díaz Nerio, etc.

1. Homi K. Bhabha, The Location of Culture, New York-London: Routledge, 1994.
2. Vivian Patraka, “Binary Terror and Feminist Performance: Reading Both Ways’’, in Discourse 14, no. 2 (summer), 1992, p.163-185.
3. Victor Turner, The Anthropology of Performance, New York, PAJ Publications, 1987.
4. Catalogue for Mirage: Enigmas of Race, Difference and Desire, London, ICA and inICA, 1995, p.150.
5. http://blog.uprising-art.com/be-bop-2013-exclusive-interview-with-teresa-maria-diaz-nerio/
6. http://aica-sc.net/2012/11/19/la-performance-pour-se-decouvrir/
7. George Marcus and Fernando Calzadilla, ‘‘Artisan in the Field: Between Art and Anthropology’’, Contemporary Art and Anthropology (edited by Arnad Scheider and Chistopher Wright, Berg, Oxford-New York, 2006, p.86-95.
8. Cf. Jonathan Lamy, ‘‘Les Performances de James Luna : effets de corps, effets de culture’’, Pratiques performatives. Body Remix, under the supervision of Josette Féral, Rennes, Presses de l’université du Québec et de Rennes, 2012, p.67-77.
9. Kim Sawchuk, ‘‘The Year of the White Bear’’, interview with Coco Fusco and Guillermo Gómez-Peña, Revue Parachute, n°67, 1992.
10. Marc Augé, Le Sens des autres : Actualités de l’anthropologie, Paris, Fayard, 1994, p.59.
11. Cf. Miriam Kershaw, ‘‘Postcolonialism and Androgyny: The Performance Art of Grace Jones’’ Art Journal 56 (Winter 1997), p.19-25.

COLOPHON

 

Editorial director: Valentine Verhaeghe
International editorial board: USA – Patrice Lerochereuil, USA – Pierre Joris, USA – Christian Xatrec, Italie – Anselm Jappe, Espagne – Pr. Bartolomé Ferrando, UPV Valencia, Espagne – Joan Casellas
Coordination and development: Valentine Verhaeghe & Michel Collet
Design : Jean-Luc Gehres / www.welcomedesign.fr
Distribution: Les presses du réel, Dijon, France
Copyright: Mobile Album & the authors
Cover: Photograph by Johnny Amore aka Patrick Morarescu, Performers: Ieke Trinks, 2013

Mobile Album International is publishing by Montagne Froide / Cold Mountain (France).
Network: Documentation in parternship with le Pôle de recherche Le Corps de l’artiste, Body & Art, Institut Supérieur des Beaux-Arts de Besançon Franche-Comté, Emily Harvey Foundation New York, The Black Kit, Europäisches Performance Institut / ASA-European, Cologne. M.A.I is part of Seize Mille, Réseau d’art contemporain en Franche-Comté, this edition is a participation to Alternante, Parcours Fourier, product by Centre d’Art Mobile.
Montagne Froide / Cold Mountain is supported by DRAC Franche-Comté Ministry of Culture and Communication (France), the Region Franche-Comté (France), The Institut français, The Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the United States. L’événement de présentation à New York a reçu le soutien des Services Culturels de l’Ambassade de France à New York.

Translations
Jannike Bergh
Nina Bogin
Eve Downey
Violette Guinchard
Helen Koriath
Cara Leopold
Mélody Michut
Yolanda Pérez Herreras
Peggy Tyrode
Simon Welch

Proofreading
Udo Breger
Yvain Guerrero
Larry Litt
William Niederkorn
Charlotte Roudot
Christian Xatrec

03 / Performane, body, fiction
autumn 2014
224 pages
issn 2101-9614
15 euros
chf 20
us $ 20
cnd $ 20
£ 13
¥ 2100