02 / Translation

automne 2011

02 / Translation

Avec : Paul Ardenne / Thierry Bernard / Isabelle Bertolotti / Julien Blaine / Nicolas Boillot / Étienne Bossut / Laurent Buffet / Michel Collet / Brigitte Cornand / Christophe Cuzin / Gilbert Descossy / Xavier Douroux / Bartolomé Ferrando / John Giorno / Muriel Hasse-Collin / Bernard Heidsieck / Samuel Herzog / Kevin Immanuel / Françoise Janicot / L. Brandon Krall / Isabelle et Jean-Conrad Lemaître / Patrice Lerochereuil / Olivier Leroi / Hector Mavridis / Matthieu Messagier / Olivier Mosset / Boris Nieslony / Phoebe Neville / Adrian Notz / Corine Pencenat / Jeffrey Perkins / George Quasha / Alexandre Rolla / João Simões / Eveline Suter / Moira Tierney / Valentin Torrens / Louis Ucciani / Christophe Vaubourg / Valentine Verhaeghe / Jean-Louis Vila / Michel Vogel / Peter Vogel / Franz Erhard Walther / Christian Xatrec / Sylvie Zavatta

 

Commander Mobile 02 / Translation

Translation

TRANSLATION : Action permanente vers le Divers, individuel et collectif. Invention et pratique d’équivalences, de sens, de débordements.
PRATIQUE : Ils refusent d’adhérer au goût, au jour théorisé par ses suiveurs. Il est question de flux, de traductions et d’insularités – « à peine désirais-tu être tout entier au centre de quelque chose que tu te vois rejeté sur les bords, c’est l’expérience centrale de toutes nos expériences » écrit Musil. Voir Mobile (entre l’art et ses extérieurs, pour une théorie des extérieurs) et Charles Fourier, l’un des leurs, dérivants, activistes, lui, traçant les déploiements de l’Harmonie.
DISPOSITIF : les tablettes projectives et dissipatives de Fourier – in La Théorie de l’unité universelle, entre autre – apparaissent comme les fruits d’une taxinomie générale autant que d’une rêverie infinie, et forment un corpus de translations chaotiques, de possibles situés entre analogies et projections mathématiques, reliant les corps, l’économie géniale, l’éducation, l’agriculture, l’amour… Une Harmonie qui vit sans épuisement.

Pour Mobile Album International,
Michel Collet

EXTRAITS

 

ÉTIENNE BOSSUT - Pas ce soir - 2007 - page 18

« Le mot traduction pourrait bien être traduit par le terme transposition, déterminé ainsi par un déplacement d’une partie à une autre où une langue donnée représente un côté du nommable. La communication, c’est de la traduction. »

GEORGE QUASHA – TRADUIRE EN PRINCIPE : L’ART AXIAL – Page 86

PATRICE LEROCHEREUIL - Targets - page 50

OLIVIER LEROI - ZORRO NOIR, ZORRO Blanc - 2004 - page 54

FRANZ ERHARD WALTHER - Elfmeterbahn (Nr. 5,1. Werksatz) - 1964 - page 118

John Giorno - JE SUIS UN POÈTE - page 30

VALENTINE VERHAEGHE : John Giorno, je voudrais vous interroger sur votre activité de poète, ses origines, ses chemins ?

JOHN GIORNO : Je suis un poète, c’est-à-dire que j’écris des poèmes. Ma conception de l’origine des poèmes ou comment ils se produisent, c’est que les poèmes sont des mots. Les poèmes sont des mots, les mots viennent du son, le son vient de la sagesse et la sagesse vient du vide. C’est-à-dire que du vide, du néant, avant que quelque chose ne se produise : le poème surgit comme un son. En premier lieu le son vient de la sagesse, la sagesse prend la forme de sons. À l’origine la sagesse est sans concept, elle arrive de manière authentique et pure, au-delà de l’objet ou du sujet puis elle prend la forme de sons, la forme de mots. Puisqu’on parle de « la poésie sonore », il n’est pas obligatoire qu’elle apparaisse sous forme de mots, on peut aussi reconnaître la sagesse dans le son. Un poète prends ces sons, ces mots, et il les met par écrit et il fait un poème. Et, traditionnellement avec les poètes, le processus s’arrête là. Les mots sont écrits sur la page et c’est fini. Puis, on l’envoie aux éditeurs et le poème devient un livre ou un magazine mais ce n’est plus la partie du poète. Dans mon cas, c’est différent. Au début des années 60, j’ai pensé que ça ne suffisait pas, le processus est plus complexe que l’acte d’écrire les mots sur une feuille de papier. La relation avec le public doit aussi en faire partie, et le public est une notion très large. Le public est peut-être une personne ou encore un livre ou un magazine. La performance en public est un autre pas en avant. Ainsi, il y a beaucoup de façons différentes de se connecter avec un public.

V.V. : Pourriez-vous retracer le parcours, le cheminement de votre travail de poète et de performeur ?

J.G. : Cela fait 50 ans que je travaille et le public change toujours, j’ai même inventé plusieurs propositions pour mon travail. En 1968, par exemple, je parlais au téléphone et quelqu’un me racontait des potins ennuyeux. J’ai pensé qu’à la place de ces mots stupides, après tout c’est du son, ça pourrait être un poème. C’est comme cela que j’ai eu l’idée et j’ai inventé Dial-A-Poem. J’ai démarré ce projet, puis cela a décollé tout seul. Mon ami a suggéré que je présente mon idée à The American Federation of the Arts and Architecture parce qu’ils assuraient le patronage des expositions d’art à ce moment. Alors, Dial-A-Poem est devenu un processus avec 12 lignes téléphoniques et, au début, il y avait 25 poètes. Allen Ginsberg, William Burroughs en faisaient partie. Après deux semaines, quelque chose de curieux s’est passé. Le New York Times a publié un grand article avec une photo de moi et le numéro de téléphone. Les gens ont vu le numéro dans le journal, on a eu des millions d’appels et c’était un vrai succès. Sans réaliser ce que je faisais, j’ai créé de nouvelles possibilités. Un numéro de téléphone était ouvert au public de New York, beaucoup de gens ont copié l’idée pour créer des compagnies et gagner de l’argent : il y avait Dial-a-Sport, Dial-a-Horoscope, Dial-a-Joke… Des technologies plus compliquées se sont développées et 20 ans plus tard, quand elles sont devenues numériques, j’ai laissé tomber, c’était trop compliqué.

 

V.V. : De nombreux artistes et poètes ont participé à ce projet ?…

J.G. : Quand on a commencé en 1968, il n’y avait que vingt-cinq poètes et je devais réaliser moi-même les enregistrements. Pour John Cage par exemple, il est venu chez moi, il lisait ses livres et je l’ai enregistré. En 1970, je faisais partie d’une exposition importante au MOMA, le Musée d’art moderne à New York, qui s’appelait Information¹. L’installation de Dial-A-Poem dans cette exposition était plus grande, à la fin, je crois qu’il y avait environ 200 poètes, tous les courants de la poésie étaient représentés. Il y avait comme je vous l’ai dit Allen Ginsberg, William Burroughs, Diane Di Prima qui représentaient les poètes de la Beat Generation et pour l’école de poésie de New York, il y avait Frank O’Hara et John Ashbery. C’était l’époque de la guerre du Vietnam, il y avait des poètes politiques comme Bernardine Dohrn associée au Weatherman Group et Bobby Seale de l’association afro-américaine. Il y avait aussi des poètes plus conservateurs comme Sylvia Plath. Je ne faisais pas de discrimination entre les courants plus conservateurs et ceux plus expérimentaux, si j’aimais quelque chose, je l’utilisais. Comme cela nous pouvions écouter de jeunes poètes inconnus aux côtés de poètes célèbres et bien d’autres, très nombreux, entre ces deux catégories. J’ai poursuivi cette activité de poète pendant toute ma vie et c’est ce que je fais toujours aujourd’hui. En ce moment, je suis très intéressé par la peinture et le dessin. Je prépare plusieurs expositions.

Entretien réalisé avec Valentine Verhaeghe
en octobre 2009 à New York.
Extrait d’un ouvrage à paraître.

1. Information est une exposition sur l’activité de jeunes artistes qui a été à l’affiche au MOMA de juillet à septembre 1970 ; artistes sélectionnés par Kynaston Mc Shine, conservateur adjoint au département peinture et sculpture. L’exposition et le catalogue présentaient le travail de plus de cent cinquante artistes issus de quinze pays. Les poèmes choisis par John Giorno, ont été enregistrés et pouvaient être entendus sur les téléphones dans les galeries, ou en composant le (212) 956-7032 de n’importe quel endroit.

COLOPHON

 

Directrice de la publication : Valentine Verhaeghe
Comité de rédaction international : USA – Patrice Lerochereuil, USA – Pr. Pierre Joris, NYU, USA – Christian Xatrec, Italie – Anselm Jappe, Espagne – Pr. Bartolomé Ferrando, UPV Valencia
Coordination et développement du numéro: Valentine Verhaeghe & Michel Collet
Design : Jean-Luc Gehres / www.welcomedesign.fr
Diffusion : Les presses du réel, Dijon, France
Copyright : Mobile Album & les auteurs
Couverture : Jeffrey Perkins & Joao Simones, Exhibition, 2009

Mobile Album International Translation est réalisé par Montagne Froide / Cold Mountain en coopération avec le Centre d’Art Mobile (France).
Montagne Froide / Cold Mountain est aidé par la DRAC Franche-Comté Ministère de la culture et de la communication (France), la Région Franche-Comté (France), et l’Institut français.

Traductions
Udo Breger
Pauline Cumbers
Eve Downey
Freddy Galand
Rafael Guerrero
Philippe Laplace
Cara Leopold
John Olsen
Laura Snape
Patrice Lerochereuil

02 / translation
automne 2011
192 pages
issn 2101-9614
12 euros
chf 15
us $ 17
cnd $ 17
£ 11
¥ 1260

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

02 / Translation

autumn 2011

02 / Translation

With: Paul Ardenne / Thierry Bernard / Isabelle Bertolotti / Julien Blaine / Nicolas Boillot / Étienne Bossut / Laurent Buffet / Michel Collet / Brigitte Cornand / Christophe Cuzin / Gilbert Descossy / Xavier Douroux / Bartolomé Ferrando / John Giorno / Muriel Hasse-Collin / Bernard Heidsieck / Samuel Herzog / Kevin Immanuel / Françoise Janicot / L. Brandon Krall / Isabelle et Jean-Conrad Lemaître / Patrice Lerochereuil / Olivier Leroi / Hector Mavridis / Matthieu Messagier / Olivier Mosset / Boris Nieslony / Phoebe Neville / Adrian Notz / Corine Pencenat / Jeffrey Perkins / George Quasha / Alexandre Rolla / João Simões / Eveline Suter / Moira Tierney / Valentin Torrens / Louis Ucciani / Christophe Vaubourg / Valentine Verhaeghe / Jean-Louis Vila / Michel Vogel / Peter Vogel / Franz Erhard Walther / Christian Xatrec / Sylvie Zavatta

 

Order Mobile 02 / Translation

Translation

TRANSLATION: Permanent action towards the “diverse”, both individual and collective. Invention and practice of equivalences, of meanings, and of excesses.

PRACTICE: they refuse to adhere to taste, to current fashion theorised by its followers. It is a question of flux, of translations, and insularities – “at the very moment you wish to be entirely at the heart of something you find yourself pushed to the edge; it is the core experience of all our experiences”, writes Musil. See Mobile (between art and its outward appearances for a theory of outward appearances) and Charles Fourier, one of their people – drifters, activists – tracing the spreading of Harmony.

SYSTEM: Fourier’s projective, dissipated tables – in The Theory of Universal Unity, among others – appear to be the fruit of a general taxonomy as much as of an infinite reverie, and form a corpus of chaotic translations, of “possibles” located between analogies and mathematical forecasts, linking bodies, inspired economics, upbringing, agriculture, love. A Harmony that lives and never wears out.

For Mobile Album International,
Michel Collet

SHOWCASE

 

ÉTIENNE BOSSUT - Not tonight - 2007 - page 18

“A translation of the word translation might be transposition, positioned by carrying across from one side to another, where a given language is one side of the speakable. Communication is translation.”

GEORGE QUASHA – TRANSLATION IN PRINCIPLE: AXIAL ART – Page 86

PATRICE LEROCHEREUIL - Targets - page 50

OLIVIER LEROI - BLACK ZORRO, WHITE ZORRO - 2004 - page 54

FRANZ ERHARD WALTHER - Elfmeterbahn (Nr. 5,1. Werksatz) - 1964 - page 118

John Giorno - I'm a poet - page 30

VALENTINE VERHAEGHE: In this interview I would like to ask you about the writing process and the origins and development of your work as a poet.

JOHN GIORNO: I’m a poet, and what that means, what a poet does is write poems. My concept of where it all comes from or how it all happens is words. Poems are words, words come from sound, sound comes from wisdom and wisdom comes from emptiness. So out of emptiness or nothingness, before something has happened: a poem arises as sound. Sound first comes from wisdom, and wisdom takes the form of sound. The beginning of wisdom is without concept; it arrives purely, beyond subject and object, and then takes the form of sound which is words. Since we are talking about poésie sonore, it doesn’t have to arise just as words but you can always recognize the wisdom in the sound. So then a poet writes these words down and then makes a poem. And then traditionally with poets, it stops there. The words are on the page and that’s the end. And then you somehow send it to a publisher and it becomes a book or a magazine but that’s not the part of the poet. In my case, it’s different. Starting in the early 60’s, I thought that it’s not enough. There is more to a process than just writing the words down on paper. The process involves connecting to an audience and the audience can be many things. The audience can be one person or the audience can be a book or a magazine. With performing, I took it a step further. There are countless ways to connect to an audience.

V.V.: Could you tell us about your career path, the progression of your work as a poet and performer?

J.G.: I’ve been doing this for 50 years, the audience is always changing, and in the 60’s, I was even inventing audiences. So, for example, in 1968, I was talking on phone and I heard a voice telling me some boring gossip and I thought, instead of these stupid words, it is sound and these words could be a poem. That triggered this whole thing and that’s how I invented Dial-A-Poem, and it took on a life of its own. So I had this idea and my friend suggested I contact the American Federation of the Arts and Architecture league because they were sponsoring art events in those years. It became this process of having twelve telephone lines and we had 25 poets. There was Allen Ginsberg and William Burroughs. Then something curious happened after two weeks. The New York Times wrote a big article with a photo of me and the telephone number. Then what happened is we had millions of calls and it was very successful. By chance, I created a new outlet. I connected a telephone number with the public of New York; some companies copy the idea for making money, for example Dial-a-Sport, Dial-a-Horoscope, Dial-a-Joke… When the technology became digit it was too complicated and I stopped.

V.V.: Could you tell me some of your collaboration with other poets or artists for this project?

J.G.: When we started in 68, as I said, it was only 25 poets and I had to record them myself. With John Cage for exemple, he would come to my house and I would record him reading his books. Then, I think it was 1970, I was in a very famous exhibition called Information¹ at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. At the end of it all, we had about 200 poets, representing everyone. There was Allen Ginsberg, Diane Di Prima, William Bourroughs for the Beat poets and for the New York school of poetry there was Frank O’Hara, John Ashbery. Also, there were the political poets, like Bernardine Dohrn associate to the Weatherman Group, an anti-Vietnam War radical organization, and Bobby Seale from the Afro-American Association. We also had more conservative poets like Sylvia Plath. I wasn’t discriminating, if I liked something, even if it was conservative and not experimental, I used it. So I had young unknown poets and old famous poets and the ones in between.
And so this goes on for the rest of my life, as a poet, even after 50 years, I still do it. For me, right now, I am very interested in painting and drawing. I have many exhibitions coming up.

Interview realized by Valentine Verhaeghe,
New York, in October 2009.
Excerpt from a forthcoming publication.

1. Information, an international report on activity of young artists, was on view at The Museum of Modern Art from July 2 through September 20. Selected by Kynaston Mc Shine, Associate Curator, Department of Painting and Sculpture, the exhibition and catalog contained work by more than 150 men and women from 15 countries. Poems, selected by Giorno, have been recorded and could be heard on phones in the galleries or by calling (212) 956-7032 from anywhere.

COLOPHON

 

Editorial director: Valentine Verhaeghe
International editorial board: USA – Patrice Lerochereuil, USA – Pr. Pierre Joris, NYU, USA – Christian Xatrec, Italie – Anselm Jappe, Espagne – Pr. Bartolomé Ferrando, UPV Valencia
Coordination and development: Valentine Verhaeghe & Michel Collet
Design : Jean-Luc Gehres / www.welcomedesign.fr
Ditribution: Les presses du réel, Dijon, France
Copyright: Mobile Album & the authors
Cover: Jeffrey Perkins & Joao Simones, Exhibition, 2009

Mobile Album International Translation is publishing by Montagne Froide / Cold Mountain in partnership with le Centre d’Art Mobile (France).
Montagne Froide / Cold Mountain is supported by the Ministry of Culture and Communication, the Region Franche-Comté, Haute-Saone (France) & Astoria (USA).

Translations
Udo Breger
Pauline Cumbers
Eve Downey
Freddy Galand
Rafael Guerrero
Philippe Laplace
Cara Leopold
John Olsen
Laura Snape
Patrice Lerochereuil

02 / translation
autumn 2011
192 pages
issn 2101-9614
12 euros
chf 15
us $ 17
cnd $ 17
£ 11
¥ 1260